In the world of social media, pressing issues such as privacy breaches and leaking of users’ personal data seem to be a common norm. When users let a particular app ‘access’ their device, they are hardly ever aware of the repercussions it can have in the longer run. Instagram is now giving users the option of having more control over data-sharing with other apps and services. This new security feature has been introduced, keeping in mind the growing concerns of users regarding their personal data, and will be rolled out in the next six months. Recently, Instagram has also removed the ‘Following’ tab in the latest update to protect user’s privacy and interests.

Third-party apps and websites often provide an option to “Import photos from Instagram” or to “Connect/Link to Instagram.” Some examples include apps that allow you to easily print your Instagram photos or help you build a website. After connecting your account to a third-party service, you may grant them access to some of your profile information, such as your username and photos. Starting today, we’re making it easier for people to manage all of the third-party services they connect to their Instagram account.

In light of this new feature, users will be able to manage whether or not they want third-party apps to access their data. Usually, these apps give us the option of “Importing photos from Instagram” or “Connecting/Linking to Instagram.” Once our account gets linked to a third-party app, it might be able to access our personal account details such as username and photos. Instagram claims to make managing such third-party access permissions easier for users. All you need to do is go to “Settings” in your Instagram app. Click on “Security” and then select “Apps and Websites.” This will enable you to remove any third-party apps linked to your Instagram account that you do not approve of, and thus deny them the access to your personal account data.

Also read: Instagram update brings dark mode on iOS 13 and Android 10

In order to make this security update more understandable for users, Instagram is also starting an updated authorization screen, which will state everything the third-party app wishes to access from the user’s account. The users will have the choice to either “cancel” or “authorize” this access option.

Avatar for Ayesha Muhammad

Taking life one step at a time. Obsessed with all good things including writing, reading, travelling, and star-gazing

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *